Psalms 1, Song of Ascents


Really? Are we one class from the end of this marvelous first pass through the Psalms? How and when did we get here? Who did we meet along the way? What did we learn about the Psalms, God, ourselves?

First off, please accept my apologies for my recent absences. As it happened, God called me to other tasks these last few weeks. I struggled mightily with accepting these invitations to be elsewhere, but I felt a power beyond me calling me to let go of my control of this world. As usual, God was right.

I wasn’t there this Thursday night, but reading through pages 55-63, I can see I missed a great class. We have discussed our author’s overreaching sometimes for meaning from the Psalms, perhaps interpreting too much. But on these pages, I believe Craghan nailed sinners to the cross and lifted up the true followers of God.

At the bottom of page 55 Craghan writes that the Psalms’ authors felt that “humans were charged with the sacred task of transforming God’s/their world; they were to relish life because the Creator had proclaimed that it was good, very good.”

I see these sentiments arise most clearly in Psalms 112 and 127. In each, we need to focus on the very first verses of the Psalms, as all further meaning flows from these words:

121; The Blessings of the Just: “Happy are those who fear the Lord, who greatly delight in God’s commands.”

127; The Need of God’s Blessing: “Unless the Lord build the house, they labor in vain who build.”

Both of these Psalms begin with a very explicit statement; God is the ultimate source of life’s blessings and truth. Being humble before God’s authority in our lives, and diligently seeking his way and hopes and dreams for us is the only path to meaning.

I guess that is what I experienced these last few weeks that I haven’t been with you. As much as this Bible Study means to me and as ardently I treasure being there, if God says, “Rich, I need you over here right now,” then I have to trust that I have heard him correctly, and like the Apostles, drop everything and follow. (Perhaps I will have some time this Thursday to explain more.)

We need to find quiet places (e.g. reading the Psalms) at the beginning and middle and end of our day to examine ourselves and our choices, to see if we are doing our utmost to live in God’s way, not ours.

Are our lives examples of fruitful vines?

Are our lives examples of fruitful vines?

Psalm 128 offers an answer to the question you posed to Rabbi Perten several classes ago. Some of you were challenged by the frequent references in the Psalms (and other Old Testament writings) about the afterlife. Why do there appear to be so many references to resurrection in the writings of a people who didn’t believe in it? Rabbi’s answer was wonderful. “There is no short answer.” And in many respects, through the Talmud and other teachings, there is room for interpretation about the possibility of a life after death. It is a gray space.

But what Psalms like 128 tell us, the Jewish people of ancient times believed in one very clear, very black and white concept. God intended for us to live this life joyfully and by his law. And these two concepts are not separable.

Psalm 128, entitled a “song of ascents,” tells us we will be “happy and prosper” only when we fear (understand with humility God’s rightful place) the Lord and walk in his ways. This life, right now, is a celebration. Abiding by God’s law and worshipping God is not a penalty or act of submission, but an opening to true freedom from our worldly oppressors of love and joy. We can ascend to a heaven on earth simply through actions that please God. Who then needs an afterlife when you can live in the Kingdom of God right now?

As Craghan states, “the righteous life is indeed worth living.” Amen.

Some final thoughts to consider as we head into our last class this coming Thursday:

1)      As Christians, how do you balance your concern for your fate in the afterlife, with your concern for doing God’s will in this life? Are our works here only petitions to earn something later?

2)     Throughout this study we have talked about how some of the Psalms were very likely used during temple rituals. Like similar songs of ascent, 128 was sung as the Jewish nation marched up the temple steps to the “Happy Home of the Just,” God’s sanctuary. If the words of these Psalms were sung by a group in worship, where do you see corollaries for worship in our modern Christian lives?

3)      Which Psalms have helped you discern the difference between human effort, and God’s hand at work in your life? (Page 62)

4 responses

  1. 1. I was brought up to do good deeds because it is the right thing to do and also help you to get into heaven. After reading the psalms, I think they did have the right attitude, live life joyfully according to God’s law because (catch 22) if you follow God’s law your life will be joyful. I do think we have to do the best we can in this world and maybe will help us to be holy enough to be with God one day. No harm is done if you do the right thing in the hopes to get into heaven, as long as you do it the right way, without fuss and self advertisement.

    2. We discussed in class that psalm 128 that we use it for nuptials, which got me thinking that I don’t remember which psalm was said at my own wedding! I also think it will be a good psalm for Christmas, a holiday about family, children and God’s blessings.

    3. After learning Psalm 121 I think about it almost every morning as I leave for work (I need to make a copy to keep in the car). It is important for me to know that God is there to protect me if I trust in Him and leave it on His hands.
    Psalm 63 has been my favorite because when praise Him you are letting Him enter your life and guide you through this world.
    We discussed the term “fear” which we all agreed means awe and respect. If you “fear” God, you are letting him lead your life. God will always provide, we just have to be patient enough to let him do so.

    1. Richard D'Ambrosio | Reply

      Beautiful Lana. I love it. Imagine that, “fear” lets love in. Just beautiful.

  2. Rich,

    The class had a rather lively, even radical, discussion in response to Craghan’s questions about Psalm 112: ” In what ways does your parish respond to the poor?
    Would you describe them as ‘lavish’?” We agreed that what we do here is not lavish, and many felt we should do more to feed the hungry, whether with food pantry or even a soup kitchen in the CCD building. Bob Colbert suggested that there would be resistance to this from Louise and Fr. Travers. Many thought, however, that it might be an idea to present to the new pastor when Father retires this coming year.

    TO BE CONTINUED!

    Pat.

    1. Richard D'Ambrosio | Reply

      I like radicals. Jesus was a radical. And look what he said about the two worshippers putting money in the temple treasury. The woman who gave all she had would probably be considered “lavish” in her charity. Now, we don’t have to bankrupt ourselves to meet God’s expectations. (At leat I don’t think so.) But if we constantly give from our excess, I don’t think we understand what Christ meant when he said that the individual who wants to save his/her life will have to give up their life. To me, that sounds lavish.

Leave a comment